Facebook took a well-deserved black eye over its recent changes, which shared profile information with third-party companies, and even the public sharing of chats that are supposed to be only between those participating. Now, at least some users are planning a “Quit Facebook Day” for May 31. Would you pull the plug? Facebook has made many changes in the short time I’ve been a member. All of these changes have been met with resistance and pages demanding that the changes be undone. (How about “100,000 strong to change Facebook back to how it was the last time we were 100,000 strong to make Facebook go back to the way it was before that”?)

I’m going to go on record and say, no I’m not quitting. I’ll give you a few reasons why, some personal, some business.

1. It’s amazing how many friends and co-workers from the past I have found on Facebook. Some are co-workers from the very first radio station I worked for in a small town in Ohio. I’ve enjoyed catching up and sharing stories from the old days. Chances are, if I left, I’d lose touch again.

2. I enjoy Twitter, but it’s a different animal. Where a post that might contain a link to a news story (especially a story that might only be of interest to a select part of my audience, i.e, former radio employees), a video or a song may be lost in the shuffle on Twitter, it seems to be available longer on Facebook.

3. It’s easier to interract and be interracted with. The “like” button makes all the difference, and there is no equivalent on Twitter, unless you count a Retweet. Even if I don’t have time to comment, I can at least tell my friend I appreciate the post.

4. Facebook is still where the traffic is for business. Maybe a new service will come about that everyone will move to, but until it does, Facebook is gthe place to get exposure for your business.

5. I’m hoping the outcry will get the often-arrogant Facebook to make some changes, take our privacy seriously, and make privacy settings crystal clear.

So, are you quitting Facebook? If so, where are you going?

